Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work.” ~~ Thomas Edison

Amen, Thomas! Especially to the “looks like work” part.

The last year has been spent in a lot of fact finding. Finding out what my tendencies are, finding out where my system needs some tweaks and finding areas where I definitely need to focus some concentration (eww). This opportunity to change my life and lose weight looks exactly like work because what do you know? It is Work!

I don’t like work. I like things to be easy. I like to make a plan and have it work like a charm the first time. I am an instant gratification kind of girl. Waiting and watching and being patient are things I am no good at. These are all characteristics that I have had to have to develop if I was realistically going to make the life style change necessary to deal with this. To become the PCOS Diva I can be and–more importantly–the woman God wants me to be.

To help me on this path, I have at times remembered the advise of a wise, old twenty-five year old named Rafael Nadal. In his book (which came out about the time I started all of this), Rafa talked about the sacrifices that were necessary to make him the athlete he is today. He used words like, “commitment” and phrases like, “mind over matter” and talked about the habits that needed to be formed if his goal was to be the very best. He said that you can not stray from your routine, because the moment you do, it will be easy to find reasons to continue to do so, and your goal ceases to be of greatest importance to you.

That philosophy has gotten me out of bed at 5:30 am ( that is not a typo. I said, “A.M” …)to hit the gym before work and has kept me thinking about how to fit gym time into my schedule on days when morning workouts aren’t possible. It has kept me walking on that treadmill when I wanted to give up a little early because my new tennis shoes pinched and were rubbing blisters on my feet.

Eating habits came along a bit more slowly, and frankly, are a constant work in progress. I understand the value of a food journal, but quickly found out that keeping one takes more time and diligence than I am generally inclined to put in. I am forever saying to myself–as I frantically calculate totals in my head–“OK….got it….write it down later.” I don’t know why I tell myself that lie. I never write it down later, and several “will do it laters” later, I’ve forgotten half of what I was supposed to remember.

I do know that journaling is an effort that is worth putting in,though, especially in the beginning. It was through journaling that I recognized that counting protein grams was fine, but I needed to watch the fat grams more closely as well. I also found that it seems to be crucial that I eat and work on the computer at the same time. Apparently I simply cannot not function well if I try to do one without the other.

I also noted during that early journaling some things that I felt like I was doing well. I typically did get that liter of water in everyday, and I was better aware of my caloric intake than I thought I would be.

Those first weeks weren’t flawless by any means, and I am still having to “get back on the wagon” from time to time, but I am happy that now I try to think of these setbacks as only that: setbacks, and not total deal breakers. And since they aren’t deal breakers, I know how to get back on that wagon and get back to work.

So don’t worry, Tom. I’m not throwing away any opportunities. By the way, have you met Rafa?

