No Good Very Bad DayDoes anyone else remember this book?  I remember sitting and listening in rapt attention while it was read to my brother and me by our mother, and again as an impersonal, female voice-over read it to a much larger audience during a “Reading Rainbow” broadcast.

“Reading Rainbow.”  There’s a memory from yester-year.  Anyone else remember that show or am I terribly dating myself?

Anyway, I remember that while I truly felt bad for Alexander and all the bad things that happened to him, I found myself cracking up at some of the situations as well.  I owe Alexander a huge apology.  Because terrible, horrible, no good, very bad days are not funny, and even less when they last for a whole week.

Now I want to move to Australia! 😉

My week started with a migraine headache on Monday, the likes of which I hadn’t suffered for well over a year.  I would’ve loved to stay home from work the next day (since said headache was better, but most definitely not gone), but I knew there was a fairly large hole in my work schedule.  Since I’m the supervisor, I had to fill it.  Residual headache, short staffing and a very busy day a very long one makes.  I tried to ignore the growing amount of paperwork on my desk and assure myself that I could get it done the next day when I was fully staffed.

Up early on Wednesday for mandatory staff meetings only to arrive to find one of my team leaders waiting by the elevators for me and my immediate supervisor with a grim look on her face and arms folded.  A feeling of dread washed over me when I saw her, and I soon found out it was for good reason.  It was confirmed to one of my staff that she had indeed suffered a miscarriage just before finding out she was pregnant, and she was crying in the team leader’s office.  How do you comfort a sobbing 22 year old over the loss of her first child?  And how do you not feel like a complete witch having to immediately address staffing concerns and ask her to stay for at least a couple hours while everything is straightened out?

You don’t; that’s how.  And when there is no additional staff to be found, you roll up your sleeves and get to work, trying not to think about all the work on your desk that seems to be piling up exponentially as the day goes because you’re running short.   You leave the office knowing that at least your patients were taken care–even if some were yelling and complaining along the way–and hoping that you can catch up on the work that is specific to you as a supervisor on Friday when you should have that extra part time person in the office.

Thursday was another day that was already stretched to the max: just enough staff to cover the basics and a department meeting that would have to be run by me without any of the administrators that would normally be involved.  The day was already impossibly busy when I arrived, and my attention was pulled in about a million directions at once.  One doctor piled three quick projects for the meeting into my arms for copying, collating, etc, but the phones were ringing off the hook and my reception staff couldn’t handle their phone calls and the patients just popping in to see if they could talk to the doctor as opposed to calling for an appointment first…

In the middle of a phone call, the team leader from Wednesday came over to my desk.  My grieving mother had bravely tried to be at work, but unable to keep her composure, her doctor was sending her home–right then.  At about which time, my panic set in.  Of course my co-worker should go home, but how do I run short a second day in a row?  Some fancy footwork and willingness from others got us through, and I sent my girl home with a long hug and instructions to call me for anything at all…but not before I had to bring up the subject of her spotty attendance up to this point and make sure she had the proper paperwork in process to protect her job.  Does that conversation ever not sound witchy?

Problems didn’t stop when it was time for the meeting.  Between, “What do you mean they aren’t providing lunch?  That was the deal.  OK; you order, and we docs will pay,” finding out the conference room had been taken over by the biggest doctor in the building without regard to the schedule and finding that the projector for the power point presentation wasn’t where I was told it was, I had another tense hour or so.  And how come no one saved me a slice of cheese pizza like I so specifically asked?  Add to that, having to go in and out of my meeting to answer texts from my supervisor (who was in the middle of her own important meeting across town) to find this and that information and fax the results of a project I hadn’t been able to finish in all of the chaos of the week, I was more than a little relieved to get to my car that night.

I was certain that Friday would make up for all the rest of the week and equally sure that a little Il Volo would restore my calmness and sanity (no.  I haven’t written about Il Volo yet, but I’m sure if you follow me long enough, you will hear all about them. 😉 ).  But that was not to be.  Somewhere in the middle of “E Piu Te Penso,” I got the following text: ”I’m sorry.  I already talked to _____.  I won’t be back to work until Monday.”

That was it.  The straw that broke the camel’s back; the last drop that overflows the cup.  I got home and cried like a baby, which made me feel so stupid and small (after all, what did I have to cry about?  I hadn’t lost my child.) that I then continued crying about that.

Friday finished in the same fashion as the rest of the week, and I was just glad to have it over.  Until I woke up with Pink Eye this morning…because of my new eyeliner, I’m sure.  Sigh.

I’m sorry, Alexander.  I shouldn’t have laughed at your bad day.

So what did I find that’s good this week?

1.)  I have a good job when a lot of people are losing theirs.

2.) I have a great staff.  When things are tough, they might complain, but it is in a venting fashion–not accusatory–and they buckle down and put in the extra effort.

3.) That I have been put in a position to not just go to work every day, but in a position that I feel like I can truly make a difference for people if God sees fit to use me.

4.) A good slice of cheese pizza–yum!

5.) Good music

